Event Calendar » ECR Viromics Webinar Series

This webinar series is aimed at early career researchers studying viruses in complex communities. We open up a platform to present and discuss your research and get connected.

The ECR Viromics Webinar Series is jointly hosted by the Center of Microbiome Science at Ohio State University, the EVBC, and the NSF EMERGE Biology Integration Institute.

The webinar series will take place regularly on the second Wednesday of the month at 10 am EDT / 7 am PDT / 4 pm CEST.

The first lecture will take place in February 2021. We would like to invite you to nominate speakers for the webinar series.

Registration. (Registration is only necessary once. You will receive updates about upcoming speakers.)

See the website at OSU for short biographies of the speakers.


Schedule

10 August 2022Elaine Luo
Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution, USA
Viral diversity in the ocean
13 Jul 2022Janina Rahlff
Linneaus University, Sweden
Dwelling in the ocean’s skin: lessons learned from studying viruses at the air-sea boundary
08 Jun 2022Ahmed Zayed
Ohio State University, USA
Ecology and evolutionary origins of the Global Ocean RNA virome
11 May 2022

9:15–11:45 EDT / 6:15–8:45 PDT / 15:15–17:45 CEST
5th International Viromics Workshop: Viromics mini-Symposium9:15 – 9:45 Viromics overview (Simon Roux)
9:45 – 10:15 Oceans overview (Ahmed Zayed)
10:45 – 11:15 Soils overview (Joanne Emerson)
11:15 – 11:45 Host-associated overview (plants, insect, animal) (Arvind Varsani)
13 Apr 2022Rotem Sorek
Weizmann Institute of Science, Israel
The immune system of bacteria: Beyond CRISPR
16 Mar 2022Florian Pfaff
Friedrich-Loeffler-Institute, Germany
Virus discovery now and then – from Koch’s postulate to browsing viruses in the internet
09 Feb 2022Ann Gregory
Ohio State University, United States
Growing opportunities for studying microdiversity in viral ecology